Don’t Grow Up Yet

Posted: December 18, 2013 in Misang's Baby Iya, Misang's Motherhood Journey
Tags: , ,

Oh..I feel so emotional today. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the hormones, the weather, the boredom…and I have been reading a lot of parenting articles lately.

Going back..

My kid will turn 3 in a few days. Right now I am watching her throw things on the rotating ceiling fan and she’s having so much fun I had to turn it off now. She’s grown so much – from a little baby cuddled in a soft, white blanket to this very active little girl who loves to sing and read book and pretend princess.

Maybe that’s why I feel this feeling today… My kid’s growing up. Eventually, she’ll go to school, make friends, grow up with them. I will not be needed anymore during mealtimes and bath times. No more wooden blocks scattered all over the floor, or Disney Junior on our TV. No more fridge door left open or the potty chair in one corner of our home. There will be silence all over theĀ  house. Just me and my husband. while our kid is out there exploring the world.

Gah! What am I doing? She’s just 3 and now I have to cherish all these childhood moments with her. We’ll still play pretend princess and wear fake crowns.

20131212_093957_1_wm

pretend princess

We’ll still build wooden block castles, pick flowers and smell them. Throw balloons, kick balls, jump on the bed, sit on the couch together and watch Cars and Finding Nemo everyday.

As much as I wanted to keep you as my baby forever, you will eventually grow up. Maybe by that time, we are both ready, and mommy and daddy will always be there for you.

Leave a Reply

