My Book Depository Experience

Posted: December 2, 2013 in Everything Misang
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m a reader. I love books. I can actually read an entire book in one sitting, if it’s really good.

In this age of technology, it’s so easy just to download the books that you want and read it on your iPad or tablet. But nothing beats holding a book in your hands and smelling its woody paper scent.

I want Iya to grow up as a book-lover too. At her early age, I already bought her a number of board books. Our first books were about shapes, colors, Alphabet and numbers. We have books about animals and food. We also have books about firetrucks, potty training and animal sounds. She loves reading them. We read books every night before we go to sleep. Or sometimes you will see her in one corner, reading, and all of her other books scattered all over the floor.

There are some books that are hard to find. I recently came across this children’s book in a forum entitled “Someday” by Alison McGhee. I tried all the bookstores and book sales but I can’t find it.

Finally, a friend told me about Book Depository. It’s an online marketplace, based in the UK where you can find some hard to find books. So I ordered the four books that I can’t find in Manila and paid it using my credit card. I got an email confirmation of all the orders and a link where you can check on the status of your book. It’s really easy.

One by one, I got the confirmation that my books are already shipped. Did I tell you that they offer free shipping to the Philippines? Yes! That’s great right? The pricing is a bit higher compared with buying it in local bookstores but with the free shipping, and availability of the books, it’s all worth it.

The first book arrived around 2 weeks after I received the email, and one by one the books came. The last one was received more than a month after it was shipped. Although you ordered your books at the same, they usually ship it separately and some shipping usually takes longer. The reason is that some books were sourced out from different suppliers. For instance, two of my books were shipped from Sweden.

These are the books I ordered:

IMG_20131202_123406

IMG_20131202_125410

IMG_20131202_130122

IMG_20131202_125327_wm

So if you’re looking for some hard-to-find books, try Book Depository.

Leave a Reply

