Misang’s Kitchen: Chocolate Chips from Scratch

Posted: November 5, 2013 in Misang's Kitchen
Tags: , ,

I have been baking for a few weeks now. I really wanna try some other recipes. Some of them call for chocolate chips. But chocolate chips here are hard to find. In order to try those recipes, I need to improvise so I searched on how to make chocolate chips.

I found something that’s easy to make. I tweaked the recipe a bit to suit my taste.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients except vanilla extract in a steel bowl. Place the bowl in a pan with boiling water and wait for the mixture to melt.

20131105_122821_1_wm

Wait for the mixture to melt and then start mixing. When the mixture is completely incorporated, add the vanilla extract and fold.

20131105_123835_1_wm

Spread the mixture in a parchment paper (I used aluminum foil) evenly, not too thick, not too thin

20131105_130224_1_wm

Freeze for a few hours until solid

20131105_131713_1_wm

Break into small pieces and store.

This recipe can yield around 1 1/2 cup of chocolate.

The chocolate chips tasted really good with just the right sweetness and not so bitter. I’m going to use it to my next recipe.

Leave a Reply

