OFW Story

Posted: October 31, 2013 in Misang's Personal Finance 101

I have been reading a lot of Finance blogs to earn knowledge about savings and investments. Last March, I opened an account with a stock broker, COL Financial to start up my investments. 7 months later, my portfolio has given me gains no banks can give me, an amount you will not earn by just sitting around. In the first months, I bought and sold some company stocks but later on, held on to some really good companies for long-term investments.

I will not have learned all of these if not for these people who religiously post on their sites to educate people, especially OFWs like us. And because of the inspirations I got, I decided to email my story to Mr. Villafuerte hoping to inspire others too and don’t get trapped in the what they call Lifestyle Creep.

Last July, Mr. Fitz Villafuerte of Ready to be Rich emailed me that he posted my story.

Lessons Learned by an OFW Wife

That story became my benchmark. From no savings to with savings and investments. And I hope you learn from me. Read a lot and educate yourself. Be a good example to others. Kudos to all finance bloggers who are really passionate about teaching OFWs to manage their finances.

Leave a Reply

