My Kitchen – Blueberry Cheesecake

Posted: September 22, 2013 in Misang's Kitchen
Tags: ,

This is my first post for my new category, Misang’s Kitchen. I have been cooking ever since but this is my first time to really bake something. My sweet husband recently bought me a brand-new stand mixer, and I’m ready to whisk!

Blueberry cheesecake, or any type of cheesecake, has been my all-time favorite dessert. Every time we step into a bakeshop, blueberry cheesecake is always a part of my meal.

20130922_180420_wm

When I got here in PNG, all I do is cook, cook, cook. We have a nice range here with an oven, and the best thing about it, our electricity is free so I can use it however I want without worrying about our bills. Then just recently hubby gave me a mixer. This is it! I can now bake whatever I want. and of course, first on my list is, guess what?

Though I already tried making a no-bake blueberry cheesecake, I really wanted to make the real, baked one. So I searched the web and I got this cheesecake recipe on Pinoy Recipe. It’s the easiest I’ve seen so I bought the ingredients and tried making it. Good thing the ingredients are readily available here in PNG.

Graham Crackers for the crust

Graham Crackers for the crust

main ingredient is of course, Cream Cheese

main ingredient is of course, Cream Cheese

for the topping, I got this blueberry jam

for the topping, I got this blueberry jam

The ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 7 packs)
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 3 (8-ounce) packages cream cheese, softened (around 500g if bought by kilogram)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (21-ounce) can blueberry pie filling

And here’s how to do it:

  • In a medium bowl blend together graham cracker crumbs, 3 tablespoons sugar, and melted butter; mix well.
  • Press onto the bottom and up the sides of a 9-inch spring-form pan and set aside.
  • Using an electric mixer softened cream cheese until light and fluffy.
  • Gradually add 1 cup sugar; mixing well.
  • Add in eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • Add in vanilla and beat well.
  • Pour half of the batter into the prepared pan.
  • Spoon blueberry pie filling on top of the batter in a ring pattern about halfway from the edge of the cake.
  • Pour the remaining batter on top.
  • Bake in a 375°F(190°C) oven for 35 to 40 minutes. Cool to room temperature on a wire rack.
  • Loosen the crust from sides of pan and cool 30 minutes more. Remove the sides of the pan; cool cheesecake completely.
  • Cover and chill at least 4 hours before serving.
I’m so happy I got the cheesecake texture but my crust is a bit brittle so you may want to add more butter. But all in all the recipe tastes great. You really need to have it chilled for all the flavors to lock in.
 
Til my next kitchen adventure. 🙂
Leave a Reply

