Amateur Photographer

Posted: September 21, 2012 in Everything Misang
Tags: , , , ,

This week is my Instagram week. I cleaned up my following list by removing the nonsense celebrities who just post photos of themselves and their glamorous lives. I discovered a lot of people to follow and added a lot of new hashtags to my projects. Most of the new people I follow now are photography enthusiasts and also joined a number of photography groups.

Well this week, I learned some new photography techniques and this what my Friday List is all about

Bokeh (boh-kay)

According to Wiki, Bokeh has been defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”.However, differences in lens aberrations and aperture shape cause some lens designs to blur the image in a way that is pleasing to the eye, while others produce blurring that is unpleasant or distracting—”good” and “bad” bokeh, respectively. Bokeh occurs for parts of the scene that lie outside the depth of field. Photographers sometimes deliberately use a shallow focustechnique to create images with prominent out-of-focus regions. Bokeh is often most visible around small background highlights, such as specular reflections and light sources, which is why it is often associated with such areas. However, bokeh is not limited to highlights; blur occurs in all out-of-focus regions of the image.

I never knew there’s a term for that “blur”! Here are some of my bokeh shots

Diptych (dip-tik)

According to Digital Photography School, Diptychs and triptychs are a brilliant tool for photographic storytelling. They present two or three images which can be from the same session or they can be polar opposites to show opposition or contrasting ideas.

Here are my diptych photos. The photo on the right was recognized by IgersPinoy in Instagram as one of their Diptych theme finalist.

Color Splash

According to Online Tech Tips, color splashing is a very basic photo editing technique that is used to accentuate certain features of a photograph. By leaving certain areas of a photo colored, and filling the rest of the photo with grayscale, you can highlight certain parts of an image to make them stand out. It originated from the era of toy cameras and lomography.

I’ve seen a lot of photos using the color splash technique but I thought this effect is difficult to achieve and I’m not really a Photoshop person. And now, I’ve done it by just using the app, Color Splash for Android, and here they are

Minimalist

Minimalism is a style employed by many 20th Century artists, using a minimum amount of components such as colour, shape, line and texture. Within the art world it is considered an extremely subjective concept, leaving interpretation and meaning up to the viewers perception of the work. (from http://photo.tutsplus.com)

Here are the photos of what I learned

I bet most of you would say “Alam ko na yan” (I know that already) but this is new to me and I’m just so thrilled to learn all these stuff.

That’s all for this Friday. Happy weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

