How Motherhood Changed My Life

Posted: July 17, 2011 in Misang's Motherhood Journey

The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new.  ~Rajneesh

our first mommy-baby picture

This is my favorite mommy quote. For the last few days I’ve been trying to draft my next post. As I was nursing my Iya, this topic suddenly entered my mind. The entries in this posts are the things that really changed after we had Iya. And this is how being a mommy changed me:

1. Long sleeps and afternoon naps.

Oh how I miss waking up at 10 in the morning! Since the day Iya was born, never again that I had a complete 8-hour straight sleep session. Gosh, the first few months were the most difficult adjustment for me. Iya would wake up every 2-3 hours to feed. Or sometimes, she will wake up at 2 a.m then she won’t sleep until about 5 a.m. Not getting a lot of sleep can be nerve-wracking! It’s so much different from my sleeping habit before. I thought when she gets a little older and learns to sleep through the night I could also get some long rest but I was wrong. Well, I have to accept the fact that I won’t have my 8-hour straight sleep until she’s a toddler (I hope).

2. Leisure Time

I still go to the mall to shop, but not like before that we were there from opening to closing. Now, when we go to the mall, I bring a baby bag, I wear nursing clothes, and have an additional spot to go- the Breastfeeding Station. We don’t get to stay in the mall for that long anymore coz sometimes Iya would have her tantrums that can be only pacified by nursing. During the first months, I wasn’t that cool with breastfeeding in public so we would just go home. I don’t get to shop for my clothes like I used to. When I see something I like, I buy it right away, without even fitting it first (good thing I know my size). But for Iya, I would always buy her a dress or a shirt, and it’s fine if I don’t bring home any.

When I go to the supermarket to do groceries, I learned to follow my grocery list coz I can’t stay there fo ra long time. I usually leave Iya with my dad when I have to buy some groceries and I don’t leave milk for the baby coz I won’t be away for long, usually I do shopping around 30 minutes to less than an hour (the supermarket is only less than a kilometer from the house). And before I leave, It’s either she’s asleep, she’s full and playing and in a good mood. I only buy what’s on my list para so that I can go back home early. Sometimes, I still have time to go around and have a look at the other items. I don’t bring Iya with me coz most of the time I can’t bring anyone with me and it would be difficult to bring a baby along.

3. Shame’s gone

Haha! I go bra-less at home all the time because I breastfeed and it’s more convenient for me to nurse Iya (and more comfy). I have nursing bras and clothes but still, I’m more at home with being bra-less. I don’t get to have visitors, except for cousins and aunts, and I seldom go out of the house so it doesn’t matter if I don’t wear anything underneath.

Before, I always go inside the bedroom when I nurse so that no one would see my baby sucking on my exposed boobies. But when I got the hang of it, and with the help of breastfeed covers, and breastfeeding shirts, I can now “shamelessly” nurse anywhere. I even nursed Iya in DFA Aseana! Why would I  be ashamed of something as important as breastfeeding? And besides it’s a human thing to do, God gave me the breasts to nurture and nourish my baby.

4. I became a better person

When Iya was born, I chose to stay at home to take care of my baby while hubby’s gone to PNG to work (see you soon hubby!). I relied on myself most of the time coz there’s only two of us in the house. Although my dad lives near my house (mum’s in heaven already), it’s always me and Iya. I became more patient in dealing with her, I learned to manage and maximize my time, I ate healthy, drank lots of water, watched less tv, read no-nonsense blogs, learned to blog to improved my (ahem) writing skills (if I have any), catch up on my reading, discovered a lot from new baby thingies to online baby stores, and baby contest to breastfeeding awareness, manage finances better, appreciated my parents more, got closer to my relatives and most importantly, I learned how to take care of a very fragile baby almost on my own. All of it in between laundry, cooking, and some me time. A lot of things are out there for us to discover but still a lot more to learn inside our own home.

Comments
  1. Jennifer Burden says:

    I really love your motherhood quote! And, congratulations on your baby! 🙂

    Jennifer Burden
    http://www.worldmomsblog.com

Leave a Reply

