A Day in the Life of a Stay-at-Home Mom

Posted: July 6, 2011 in Misang's Motherhood Journey
Tags: , ,

Let me share this very wonderful article regarding SAHM’s from Smart Parenting:

A Day in the Life of a Stay-at-Home Mom

After reading, I was like, “Wow, I made the right decision”.

From Working Girl to SAHM

I used to work in a company in Makati. Typical office girl – gimmicks, work, pressure, stuff like that. Then I got pregnant. At first it didn’t enter my mind to stop working after I give birth. But then as the due date is getting nearer, a lot of things (or let’s call it factors), affected my decision on leaving work. I won’t enumerate all of them but the result is me filing the resignation letter in the middle of my maternity leave. Well, my boss and my colleagues were not shocked on my decision. They told me that it’s normal for new moms to leave work and take care of the baby.

Office Pressure vs. Babysitting

When I was still working, I have this routine – wake up, go to office, work from 8am to 5pm, occasional OT, then go home. That’s from Monday to Friday. Then at the end of the week, Friday night gimmicks with friends then rest the whole weekend.

Most people think that moms who stay at home do have a lot of time to just sit down and relax. Well, you’re all wrong.

When I became a SAHM, I had this routine – wake up, breakfast, feed the baby, bathe the baby, put her to sleep, playtime, lunch, feed baby again, playtime put her to sleep again, playtime again, dinner, put her to sleep again, end of the day. That still includes house chores, washing clothes, cleaning up the house, etc. No weekends, no holidays and occasional trips to the mall and in-law visits.

When you become a SAHM, you will still have a boss, only tinier and stricter than your office boss. When she’s hungry, you have to feed her, when she’s sleepy you have to put her to sleep. When she cries, you have to attend to her IMMEDIATELY. And you have to play with her all day. That’s how strict she is. She will demand most of your time. The only time I have for myself on a typical day is when I take a bath and whenever she’s asleep.

The Milestones

Being a SAHM is tiring and on the first few months, nakaka-losyang especially if you don’t have a yaya with you. In my case, it’s just me and the baby sa house. I am literally a single parent kasi nasa abroad si hubby. We’re so lucky rin na we can afford na SAHM ako. It’s a bit mahirap talaga but the rewards are priceless. You get to see all your baby’s first – the smile, attempts to lie on her stomach, teach her “close-open” and actually learning it, saying her first “boo” while spraying laway all over your face, seeing her laugh for the first time, seeing her get up from her bouncer to sit, the first time she put her toys in her mouth. It means a lot to a mother to see her child grow up and learn new things with her, hindi yung sinabi lang sa’yo ng yaya or ni mommy na “si baby po dumapa na” or “si baby po tumawa na kanina”.

I miss working and having a career but once lang magiging baby ang baby ko so I have to be with her on all her milestones, and I think that’s one reason enough for me to leave work and stay at home. And being a SAHM is a one of a kind career not everyone can afford to have. 🙂

Comments
  1. J-mie says:

    I know exactly what you are going through as I made the same decision and same commitment like you did.

    I, too, resigned from my work, became a single (hubby also works abroad) SAHM, no yaya whatsoever.

    Knowing that I am not alone in this and that someone out there knows and understands exactly what I am going through is really encouraging.

    Congratulations and keep up the good work mommy! You are blessed!

Leave a Reply

